City of York Council

Resolutions and proceedings of the Meeting of the City of York Council held at The Racecourse, York on Wednesday, 27 April 2022, starting at 6.00 pm

Present: The Lord Mayor (Cllr Chris Cullwick) in the Chair, and the following Councillors:

Acomb Ward	Bishopthorpe Ward
Lomas	
Clifton Ward	Copmanthorpe Ward
Myers Wells	Carr
Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward	Fishergate Ward
Fenton Mason Widdowson	D'Agorne D Taylor
Fulford and Heslington Ward	Guildhall Ward
Aspden	Craghill Fitzpatrick Looker
Haxby & Wigginton Ward	Heworth Ward
Cuthbertson Hollyer Pearson	Douglas Perrett Webb
Heworth Without Ward	Holgate Ward
Ayre	Heaton Melly K Taylor

Hull Road Ward	Huntington and New Earswick Ward
Musson	Orrell Runciman
Micklegate Ward	Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward
Crawshaw Kilbane	Rowley Warters
Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward	Rural West York Ward
Smalley Waudby	Hook
Strensall Ward	Westfield Ward
Fisher	Daubeney Hunter Waller
Wheldrake Ward	

Vassie

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Baker, Barker, Barnes, Doughty, Galvin and Norman.

61. Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to declare at this point in the meeting any disclosable pecuniary interests or other registrable interests they might have in the business on the agenda, if they had not already done so in advance on the Register of Interests. None were declared.

62. Public Participation

It was reported that there had been two registrations to speak at the meeting under the Council's Public Participation Scheme in relation to the motion at Item 3 on the agenda.

Gwen Swinburn stated that the motion did not go far enough and that Prince Andrew should also lose the title 'Duke of York' and not be invited to the city again.

Francis Richard Connolly stated that removing Prince Andrew's titles would not change anything; nobody was above the law and there should be a judicial review regarding the allegations against him.

63. Notice of Motion - Removal of Prince Andrew's Honorary Freedom of the City of York

Cllr Smalley moved, and Cllr Widdowson seconded, the following motion:

"The Council resolves that, pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the City of York Council withdraws the Honorary Freeman of the City status from the Duke of York which was conferred upon him in 1987."

After debate, a named vote was taken on the motion, with the following result:

For	Against	Abstained
Cllr Aspden		Cllr Carr (Lord Mayor
-		Elect)
Cllr Ayre		Cllr Cullwick (Lord
-		Mayor)
Cllr Craghill		

Cllr Crawshaw		
Cllr Cuthbertson		
Cllr D'Agorne		
Cllr Daubeney		
Cllr Doughty		
Cllr Douglas		
Cllr Fenton		
Cllr Fisher		
Cllr Fitzpatrick		
Cllr Heaton		
Cllr Hollyer		
Cllr Hook		
Cllr Hunter		
Cllr Kilbane		
Cllr Lomas		
Cllr Looker		
Cllr Mason		
Cllr Melly		
Cllr Musson		
Cllr Myers		
Cllr Norman		
Cllr Orrell		
Cllr Pearson		
Cllr Perrett		
Cllr Rowley		
Cllr Runciman		
Cllr Smalley		
Cllr D Taylor		
Cllr K Taylor		
Cllr Vassie		
Cllr Waller		
Cllr Wann		
Cllr Waudby		
Cllr Webb		
Cllr Wells		
Cllr Widdowson		
39	0	2

The motion was therefore declared CARRIED and it was

Resolved: That the above motion be approved.

Cllr Chris Cullwick LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 6.00 pm and concluded at 6.26 pm]

